Assam Assembly Polls: BJP Announces List Of Candidates, CM Sonowal To Contest From Majuli Seat

Dispur: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Friday released its list of candidates for the much-awaited Assam Assembly Elections which is scheduled to go for polls in three phases starting March 27. While making the announcement, BJP National General Secretary Arun Singh announced that the saffon party will contest Assembly polls in alliance with two parties – Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) and United People’s Party Liberal (UPPL). 

Singh also said that seat-sharing arrangements in 86 Assembly segments where polling will be held mostly in the first and second phase has been finalised by BJP and its alliance partners.

Assam has 126 assembly constituencies where elections will be held in three phases, on March 27, April 1 and April 6.

During a press conference, Singh also revealed that Assam Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal will contest election from Majuli Vidhan Sabha constituency which is a part of of Lakhimpur Lok Sabha constituency and a reserved seat for the Scheduled tribes. 

Meanwhile, Himanta Biswa Sarma, Assam minister and the BJP’s point man in the Northeast will contest election from Jalukbari Vidhan Sabha constituency which is a segment of Gauhati Lok Sabha constituency.

(This is a breaking story. More details awaited.)

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *