Tamil Nadu Polls: AIADMK Releases 1st List, CM Palaniswami To Contest From Edappadi, OPS From Bodinayakanur

With all eyes set on continuing its winning streak in the southern state of Tamil Nadu, the ruling All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK) on Friday released its first list of six candidates for the upcoming assembly polls.

As per the first list, Tamil Nadu Chief Minister Edappadi K. Palaniswami would contest from the Edappadi assembly constituency while his deputy O. Panneerselvam will be in the fray from Bodinayakanur in Theni district.

READ: TMC Candidates List 2021: Mamata Banerjee Announces Candidate List For 291 Bengal Assembly Seats, Check Full List

Fisheries Minister D. Jayakumar and Law Minister C Ve Shanmugam will contest from Royapuram and Villupuram while the AIADMK has fielded MLAs S.P. Shanmuganathan and S. Thenmozhi from Srivaigundam and Nilakottai (Reserved) segments.

The first list announcement comes just 48 hours after expelled AIADMK chief VK Sasikala announced retirement from politics ahead of Tamil Nadu Assembly elections.

Sasikala, the closest aide of the late former chief minister J. Jayalalithaa, in a press release said “I have never desired for power or any position”. 

READ: West Bengal Polls: Mithun Chakraborty To Join BJP During PM Narendra Modi’s Kolkata Rally

“I remained a sister of Amma ( J Jayalalithaa) even after her demise.  Now, I will pray to the Almighty as well as Amma whom I deem as God for the establishment of Amma’s government,” she added.

Sasikala also urged the AIADMK cadre to act unitedly in the assembly elections to trounce the Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) in the electoral battlefield.

Polling for the 234-member Tamil Nadu Assembly will take place in a single phase on April 6 while the results will be declared on May 2.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *